Build That Wall!

 

who is this guy.jpg

Cinco de Mayo was a disaster for me!

As I shared with you in an earlier post, my personal assistant, Ermigal, gets my dander up when she tells one and all, “he’s a Min-Pinscher  with some Chihuahua—check out those ears!”   So what if I am part Mexican? Right after I was born, I recall my birth mother whispering in my ear “you are from a long line of perritos who were the companions of Aztec royalty.  Be proud, mi hijo.”

aztec king&queen

So I do get into the whole Cinco de Mayo thing, and last year my p.a. (or p.i.a.–lol!) shared an enchilada and a Milk-Bone with me. Low-key but relaxing.

Not so this year.

She was gone for awhile that morning, flitting around doing who knows what, then breezes in and harnesses me up for a walk. OK, whatever.  Except there was somebody else to walk with us.  “Leo” was in my carseat (a gift from canine compadre  Moose, who retired to Florida) wiggling around like a Mexican jumping bean.

As Marmaduke would say, “Ruh-roh.”

Supposedly Leo and I share the same combo of genes, but his lack of breeding shows in his failure to hold his ears up in order to do important work for kings and queens, such as listen for enemy soldiers who are miles away. Stuff like that.

border wall

If there had been a wall–a total wall–on the Mexican border, it may have prevented Leo’s family from sneaking in.

 

Right now, we’re keeping our distance from each other.  He really burns my butt when he takes my chew bones.

dog-bones-350093_960_720

 

 

 

 

 

I have to admit though, it’s good to have someone around who’s your size.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Build That Wall!

  1. Ermine… It sure was a pleasure meeting Dooley recently. Love the post… You pia!
    Does this mean that Leo is part of the family now or are you dog sitting? Sounds like
    they might be related. And Dooley’s ears do stick up so smartly! Hugs, Rose

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Yes, glad you could meet Dooley, and Leo is a permanent part of the family. They really could be brothers separated at birth, except Leo is older. His ears are h is most distinctive feature, I agree!

      Like

  2. Dooley, donde esta este “Leo”? Necesitamos verlo! No te preocupes tanto, eres el “leo” de la casa! Me imagino que el comprenda esto, pero el también necesita tu compasión — el es el “newcomer”, verdad?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gracias, Karen. My new buddy will be featured in my next post–and you’re right, I’m the lion of the house, and there’s room and lotsa love for both of us here. By the way, is Lady dating anyone? Love, Dooley

      Like

  3. Ermie,
    That little wippersnapper of yours sounds a little miffed about his new little brothers arrival. Just whisper in one of silkey little radar dishes…I mean EARS, of his that he’s the most handsome, the smartest, not to mention, your favorite. That should repair his feelings. You can tell Leo the same thing when you tuck him in. It really works !

    Like

  4. Ermine, I am in France with three friends and thinking of our three weeks together in Italy! So much we have shared. Let’s have lunch when I return after Mother’s Day. Jean

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  5. Dooley, you’ve done a pretty good job of training Ermigal, and I’m sure you can handle this renegade pooch, Leo, too. Good luck! We’re rooting for you!

    Like

  6. I’m assuming that Marcia is Your p.a., Moose and you dictated this message to her. Does she take steno? Looking forward to sharing some chew bones with you. Hopefully Leo will be more refined when you visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

